Columbia University Delegation Visits ShanghaiTech

ON2023-11-22TAG: ShanghaiTech UniversityCATEGORY: Global

On November 6, a delegation from Columbia University led by Dr. Soulaymane Kachani, Senior Vice Provost, visited ShanghaiTech. President Jiang Mianheng and Vice President Jiang Ge met with them and discussed the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).

Left: Dr. Soulaymane Kachani     Right: President Jiang Mianheng

Jiang Ge extended a warm welcome to the delegation, and briefly introduced the university’s history, development, and achievements made over the past decade. Following this, the two institutions engaged in detailed discussion of the contents of the MOU that focus on student training and exchange. The signing of the MOU will mark the formal cooperative relationship between ShanghaiTech and Columbia University, promoting the joint cultivation of interdisciplinary and innovative talents in the field of engineering.


After the meeting, Dr. Kachani and Ms. Merrell Norden, Director of Online Education of Columbia, visited the Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning (CITL), and five schools including SCA, SPST, SEM, SIST, and SLST. Through the campus tour, the guests gained a deeper understanding of the disciplinary settings, research layout, and teaching approaches of ShanghaiTech that will lay a foundation for future collaborations.

Campus tour: a. CITL; b.SCA; c. SPST; d. SEM; e. SIST; f. SLST

Delegation members from Columbia Engineering also gave a graduate admissions information session in the University Library, which attracted about a hundred students.


Information session in the University Library

Columbia University is a world-class private research university and one of the Ivy League universities in the United States. It was founded in 1754 and is the oldest higher education institution in New York State. Columbia Engineering was established in 1864, with a vision of “Engineering for Humanity”. Currently, it has 9 departments, 21 research fields, and 15 research centers. There are 8 Nobel Prize winners among its alumni.